Flags of South America, part 10 – Colombia.

Flags of South America, part 10 – Colombia.

Colombia, a country until recently associated with drug trade is now experiencing a tourism renaissance. It has become a safer destination for travel and with its wealth of culture and unique geographic location it is certainly a rising star of South America. Colombia is about twice the size of the state of Texas and has unique access to both Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean. Its coastal colonial city of Cartagena has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Colombia, like Ecuador and Venezuela emerged from a larger entity Gran Colombia in 1830.

The meaning of the flag:

three horizontal bands of yellow (top, double-width), blue, and red; the flag retains the three main colors of the banner of Gran Colombia, the short-lived South American republic that broke up in 1830; various interpretations of the colors exist and include: yellow for the gold in Colombia’s land, blue for the seas on its shores, and red for the blood spilled in attaining freedom; alternatively, the colors have been described as representing more elemental concepts such as sovereignty and justice (yellow), loyalty and vigilance (blue), and valor and generosity (red); or simply the principles of liberty, equality, and fraternity

note: similar to the flag of Ecuador, which is longer and bears the Ecuadorian coat of arms superimposed in the center

source of information: CIA World Factbook

Next in the series, the Caribbean triplets

Leave a Reply