Flags of South America part 8 – Ecuador.

Flags of South America part 8 – Ecuador.

This is one of the most exciting countries on the South American continent with rich biodiversity, culture and exotic landscapes. With its origins as the northern reaches of Inca Empire, through Spanish conquest, it finally gained independence between 1819-1822. Country’s name at that time was Quito, which formally changed the name to the Republic of the Equator and finally shortened to Ecuador. The country which is roughly the size of state of Nevada can be divided into 4 regions: Amazon jungle region, Andean highlands, coastal plains and the Galapagos Islands. Main exports are petroleum, fish, shrimp, bananas, coffee and cacao among others.

The meaning of the flag:

three horizontal bands of yellow (top, double width), blue, and red with the coat of arms superimposed at the center of the flag; the flag retains the three main colors of the banner of Gran Columbia, the South American republic that broke up in 1830; the yellow color represents sunshine, grain, and mineral wealth, blue the sky, sea, and rivers, and red the blood of patriots spilled in the struggle for freedom and justice

note: similar to the flag of Colombia, which is shorter and does not bear a coat of arms

source of information: CIA World Factbook

Next country on the list: it’s a home to the world’s tallest waterfall,

Kerepakupai Merú

One thought on “Flags of South America part 8 – Ecuador.

  1. I thought Columbian and Ecuadorian flags where exactly the same with the only difference of the difference of the coat of arms. It is interesting how they have the same color flag with Venezuela keeping like this brotherhood thread between them. That would have been a really great country if the Great Columbia would have survived until nowadays.

Leave a Reply